Courtesy: Fairfield University

Baliga and McMullen Named Scholars of Distinction

Courtesy: Fairfield University
March 15, 2017

FAIRFIELD, Conn. – Junior Corrine Baliga and sophomore Kaley McMullen of the Fairfield University field hockey team were named Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I Scholars of Distinction. Both student-athletes achieved a cumulative GPA of at least 3.90 through the Fall semester of 2016.

For McMullen, it is her second consecutive year being named a Scholar of Distinction by the NFHCA.

A total of 12 Fairfield University student-athletes were also named to the Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad. This honor recognizes those who earned a cumulative GPA of at least 3.30 through the Fall 2016 semester. This list includes first time honorees in Julie de Paeuw, Shannon Doherty, Jaclyn Gallagher, Emily Halderson, Taylor Merkle, and Hannah Pike. Appearing for the second time are Emma Clark, Kaley McMullen, and Erin Buckley. Corrine Baliga and Bridget Miles were recognized for the third consecutive year while senior captain Ann Burgoyne saw her name on the list for the fourth straight year.

On the field, Fairfield posted a 4-2 MAAC record and advanced to the Conference Championship Game for the second straight year. The Stags earned the #2 seed in the MAAC Tournament and topped Bryant 3-2 in the semifinals before losing to #1 Monmouth 3-2 in double overtime in the title game. Eight Stags were also selected to the First and Second All-MAAC Teams, the most in the league. 




MAAC Championship Run Ends with 7-6 Loss
Stags Open MAAC Championship with 12-1 Win
Softball Headed to Baton Rouge