Courtesy: Fairfield University

Women's Rowing Competed In Black Rock Cup

Courtesy: Fairfield University
April 24, 2017

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- The Fairfield University rowing team competed at the Black Rock Cup in upstate New York over the weekend and collected three wins during the event. The second varsity 8, the varsity 4 and the second varsity 4 all crossed the line first at the Cup.

The second varsity 8 edged out conference foe Canisius College in its first race of the Cup, posting a time of 7:09.0. The Griffs clocked in at 7:11.8 to capture the runner-up spot. Fairfield followed up with a second-place finish against another MAAC school in Jacksonville University, which posted the winning time of 7:02.1 as compared to Fairfield's run at 7:14.9. The second varsity 8 consisted of Shelley Wilson, Lina Foncello, Eileen Keenan, Bri Mullaney, Allison Sloan, Cat Clough, Aileen Morley-McLaughlin, Colleen Sheridan, and coxswain Katie Clark.

The varsity 4 navigated to a win over Canisius College (8:06.1)  and SUNY-Genesseo (8:22.8), using its time of 8:03.1 to edge out the competition. The team took to the water again for a matchup with Marist College which the Red Foxes won with at ime of 7:55.3, ahead of the Stags' time of 8:07.3. The Fairfield contingent included Tiffany Iannucci, Melissa Iannucci, Jackie Ozyjowski, Chloe Scherpa, and coxswain Katie Unfried.

The second varsity 4 picked up a first-place and a second-place result in its two races, beginning with the win over SUNY-Genesseo B (8:35.4) and SUNY Oswego (10:30.6). The Stags entry was comprised by Maddie Feeley, Maggie O'Donnell, Kerry Clarke, Kartina Kirchgaesser, and coxswain Laura Mason. In their next event, the second varsity 4 finished second to D'Youville (7:59.9) with its time of 8:17.7

Fairfield's varsity 8 also competed on the day and finsihed second to Marist in its first race and Canisius in the second race. The Stags posted times of 7:11.6 and 7:07.3 in each of its two races, respectively. The varsity 8 boat consisted of Claire Lavelle, Amanda McKenna, Kelsey Carthew, Laura Miles, Dani McKenna, Mallory Burlington, Ani Dennen, Tina Chalastra, and coxswain Leanne Anderson.




Stags Open MAAC Championship with 12-1 Win
Softball Headed to Baton Rouge
Stags Win 2017 MAAC Championship